
	

WORKING AFTER RETIREMENT

If you are considering returning to public sector work 
after retirement, it’s important to understand how Idaho 
state law may affect your retirement benefit should you 
return to work.  

As a PERSI retiree, you may work for any private-sector 
employer as long as you want and for as many hours as 
you want without affecting your retirement benefits. 
However, if you want to work for any employer belonging 
to PERSI, the following restrictions apply:

Break in Service & No Promise of Future Employment
If you are an early retiree (younger than age 65, or 60 
for police/PERSI firefighters), Idaho Code 59-1356 (1) 
requires that: 
 
1. You have at least a 90-day break between retirement 
and reemployment with the same employer regardless 
of the number of hours worked, 

AND

2. No promise of future employment with the same 
employer can be made to you when you leave 
employment,

AND

3) You will not be considered as having separated from 
service if you perform any work in any capacity for the 
same employer during the 90-day break.

Such a break is not required if you retire at age 65 or 
later (age 60 for police/PERSI firefighters). 

If you are an early retiree and return to work for the 
same employer within 90 days, any pension benefit 
payments received plus interest must be returned 
to PERSI.

State Employees:  The State of Idaho is considered 
one employer.

20-Hour Per Week Limit
If you want to work for a PERSI employer and continue 
to receive your monthly pension payments, you cannot 
work 20 hours or more per week (teachers working a 
half-time contract or more) for 5 consecutive months 
or  more. Doing so means your monthly retirement 
payments must stop, and both employee and employer  
contributions must be paid to PERSI from the beginning 
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date of reemployment. You 
must also repay all benefit 
payments received after 
your reemployment date plus 
interest. This applies to all retirees, regardless of age.

Once employment ends, contributions stop and 
you may once again begin receiving your original 
pension benefits. A separate allowance based on your 
reemployment period will be added.

If your period of reemployment ends up being less 
than 5 months, PERSI will return contributions to you, 
your employer will get a credit for that amount, and 
you will receive retroactive benefit payments covering 
the reemployment period. If you are working less than 
20 hours per week or less than 5 consecutive months, 
no contributions are required and you will continue 
to receive your monthly pension payments. Please 
complete Form 132.
(http://www.persi.idaho.gov/forms/RS_Forms/RS132.pdf)

Rules for Retired Teachers and Administrators
During its 2012 session the Idaho Legislature passed 
HB579, repealing a sunset provision that was part of 
earlier legislation (HB202). This new law stipulates that 
retired teachers and administrators can be rehired as 
“at will” employees without jeopardizing their PERSI 
benefits. Those who qualify must meet the following:

▪  You must retire as a certificated teacher or 		
    administrator, and be rehired in that same capacity.

▪  You will not be eligible for rehire if you receive an 		
	  	Early Retirement Incentive Program (ERIP) award 		
	  	when you retire.

▪  You must be age 62 or older when you retire.

▪  You must have retired with a unreduced benefit 		
		 because you had either attained service retirement 	
		 age (65) or met Rule of 90 at the time of your		
		 retirement. Please complete Form 132A. 

(http://www.persi.idaho.gov/forms/rs_forms/rs132a.pdf)
Employers retain the right to make hiring decisions under 
HB579; therefore, reemployment is not guaranteed. 

Information presented herein is based on current law. If there 
is any discrepancy between this publication and the law, the 
provisions of the law will prevail.

http://www.persi.idaho.gov/forms/RS_Forms/RS132.pdf
http://www.persi.idaho.gov/forms/rs_forms/rs132a.pdf


PERSI membership for substitute teachers 
changed July 1, 2010.  HB644  amended Idaho 
Code 59-1302, changing the definition of 
employee for PERSI purposes by exempting 
substitute teachers from PERSI membership 
as follows:  

"Any person not under contract with a school 
district or charter school, who on a day-to-day 
basis works as a substitute teacher replacing 
a contracted teacher and is paid a substitute 
wage as established by district policy or who, 
on a day-to-day basis works as a substitute 
assistant replacing a staff instruction assistant 
or a staff library assistant and is paid a 
substitute wage as established by district 
policy" are not employees for PERSI purposes. 

The bill can be read in its entirety online 
at http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/
legislation/2010/H0644.htm

90-Day Break
Confusion has already surfaced with teachers 
thinking they can retire from a school district 
and   return almost immediately as a non-
contracted substitute teacher for the district 
from which they just retired. The following is 
provided as clarification:

Subsection (1) of 59-1356 would apply to an 
early retiree (not service retirement age) 
school teacher who retires under PERSI and 
then returns to work within 90 days as a 
substitute [as defined in HB644] with the same 
employer.
 
If a retiring teacher is not service retirement 
age, he/she needs to wait 90 days before 
becoming a substitute at the same school 
district or he/she is not considered to have 
terminated employment. HB644 changed the 

definition of employee, exempting substitutes 
generally.  It was not intended, nor was 
it drafted, to provide an exception to the 
restrictions of 59-1356 (1) which requires early 
retirees to have a 90-day break in service 
without any guarantee of reemployment in 
any capacity with the same employer and also 
requires repayment of any retirement benefit 
payments received by the retiree if the 90-day 
condition is not met.

Simply put, the circumstances under which a 
retired teacher can go back to work (under 
HB644)as a substitute without adversely 
impacting his/her retirement are:

(1)  Be service retirement age (in which case 	
      the 90-day rule does not apply); OR 

(2)  Wait 90 days before returning to the 	
       same employer (school district)

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS 

Separation Benefit
Can substitutes who were PERSI members in 
the past, but who are now ineligible, withdraw 
their PERSI funds?  Answer: Not unless there is 
a distributable event.

Part-Time Employees Who Also Substitute
Is a member who works 20 hours per week doing 
a job other than teaching for the school district 
and works another 20 hours as a substitute 
during the week, PERSI eligible? Answer: Only 
the non-substitute hours count towards PERSI 
eligibility.

If you have questions about PERSI membership 
or about HB644, call the PERSI Member Services 
Answer Center toll-free at 1-800-451-8228 or 
334-3365 from the Treasure Valley area.

 SUBSTITUTE TEACHERS ARE NOT PERSI MEMBERS: 
UNDERSTANDING HB644


