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WITHDRAWING FUNDS FROM YOUR PERSI ACCOUNTS

Many PERSI members have two retirement accounts: a Base Plan account and a Choice 401(k) 
Plan account. If you end PERSI-covered employment, you may leave your funds in PERSI or 
you may withdraw your funds from either or both accounts. The two accounts have different 
requirements and withdrawal criteria. This brochure will help you understand your options.

Taking a Base Plan Separation Benefit
A separation benefit is a pay out (lump sum payment or rollover) of all the money you contributed 
to the PERSI Base Plan, plus the interest earned.  In other words, it is a withdrawal of your funds. 
While your Base Plan contributions are always yours, contributions made by your employer are 
not eligible for withdrawal because they were pooled in the trust to fund benefits.

Separation Benefit Eligibility
You are eligible for a Base Plan separation benefit if you were an active employee and have 
terminated PERSI-covered employment.  You must be an inactive member before requesting 
an account withdrawal. You are not eligible for a separation benefit if you are working for a 
PERSI employer (even on a part-time basis), are on a leave of absence, or convert to the status 
of contractor or leased employee.

If you take a separation benefit and return to work for the same employer within 90 days, you 
will be required to repay any separation benefit you received, plus any interest. State of Idaho 
employees who leave one state agency to work for another agency within 90 days must repay 
any funds that were withdrawn because the state is considered one employer.

Other Conditions for Eligibility
You are not eligible for a separation benefit if you continue to work for the same PERSI employer, 
even if you are working less than the 20 hours per week required for PERSI membership. You 
must terminate employment to be eligible.

If your employer withdraws from PERSI, a separation benefit cannot be paid until you stop 
working for that employer. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and Idaho statutes require members 
to be separated from service with the employer before they can receive a separation benefit.

If you leave one PERSI employer and begin working for another PERSI employer, you must take a 
90-day break in employment between jobs to qualify for a separation benefit.  If you decide to 
make a withdrawal request, it must be made AFTER you stop working for one PERSI employer 
and BEFORE you start working for a new PERSI employer. (Remember, the State of Idaho is 
considered one employer.)

Applying for a Base Plan Separation Benefit
To apply for a Base Plan separation benefit, you must first be an inactive member and meet the 
eligibility requirements listed in this brochure. Your employer is required to notify PERSI when you 
have separated all employment. This notification is typically done via the employer’s regular payroll 
transmittal. When an application is received between transmittal periods, PERSI may request an 
RS109 Notice of Change in Employment Status form from the employer to avoid a processing delay.  
Before the actual separation benefit can be paid, you must submit an RS108 Request for Separation 
Benefit form to PERSI. Your signature must be notarized. All PERSI offices have notaries available 
during normal business hours at no cost to members. If you choose to roll over your funds to an 
Individual Retirement Account (IRA) or other eligible retirement plan, PERSI will need the name, 
address, and plan account information.
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Spousal Consent
Idaho is a community property state. Under current law, your spouse may be entitled to a 
portion of your Base Plan benefit. The RS108 Base Plan Account Withdrawal form has a section 
for your spouse (if you are married) to complete and sign acknowledging his/her awareness of 
the withdrawal and giving consent for it.  Your spouse’s signature on the RS108 form must be 
notarized by a Notary Public to ensure it is your spouse who is giving consent. All PERSI offices 
have notaries available during normal business hours at no cost to members. You do not need an 
appointment to have PERSI documents notarized. (See the Divorce brochure on the PERSI website 
for details about the division of assets.)

Payments
Payment Directly to You: If you request a separation benefit more than two months after leaving 
PERSI-covered employment, you will generally receive all of your accumulated contributions 
in a single payment (less a 20% federal tax withholding).  If your request is made earlier than 
two months, your account balance will likely be paid in two payments. The first payment is 
processed after PERSI receives all the necessary documents, including the RS108 and RS109 
forms and a copy of your divorce decree (if applicable). The second payment will include the 
balance of any contributions made in the interim period between terminating employment 
and requesting a separation benefit. This payment is usually paid  about 90 days after the first 
payment. Direct deposit is not available for a payment made directly to you.

Payment as a Direct Rollover to an IRA or Other Eligible Plan:  Payments going to an IRA or other 
qualified retirement plan are forwarded directly to the specified plan/IRA. The timing of the 
transfer is the same as if the funds were paid to you.

Taking a Separation Benefit Cancels Your Base Plan Service Credits
When taking a separation benefit, all service credits toward your PERSI retirement are cancelled. 
If you have enough credited service to qualify for a Base Plan pension payment, your eligibility 
for that benefit is also cancelled. Should you ever return to work for a PERSI-covered employer, 
you would begin accruing service all over again. Many types of employers belong to PERSI, so 
if you think you might work for a school district, a city or county, a highway district, or a state 
agency someday, you may want to consider leaving your funds in PERSI.   

If you have at least 60 months of credited service, or have a “vested right” to a lifetime 
retirement benefit, you should check with PERSI about your benefit amount before taking a 
separation benefit.  The value of a PERSI pension is often more than just your account balance.   

For example: Within the first 3 to 5 years of retirement most members have already received 
all the money they contributed while working. If your total contributions to PERSI during your 
career totaled $60,000 and your monthly retirement benefit is $1500, you would receive your 
$60,000 in just over three years. Although you would have exhausted everything you contributed, 
PERSI would continue to pay you $1500 a month for the rest of your life, plus annual cost of 
living adjustments (COLAs) if approved by the state legislature.  So if your retirement were to 
last another 30 years, you would receive $540,000 in benefits from the PERSI trust.  It would be 
very hard to find another investment with such a secure, long-term return.
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Taxes
Before deciding to take a separation benefit, you should consider the tax consequences. Not all 
tax rules can be presented in this brochure; therefore, PERSI suggests you consult with your tax 
advisor before requesting a separation benefit. [Specific information can be found in Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Publication 575, titled “Pension and Annuity Income” and IRS Publication 
590, titled “Individual Retirement Arrangements.”  Both publications are available online at 
the IRS website at http://www.irs.gov/index.html or by calling 1-800-829-3676.]

•	 Federal Excise Tax
If you are not at least age 59½ at the time you take a separation benefit, when you file your 
tax return you may be required to pay a 10% federal excise tax for taking an early withdrawal.  
You could also be subject to any applicable federal, state, and local taxes on the tax-deferred 
portion of your benefit.  The tax-deferred portion consists of all contributions made after July 
1, 1983, plus the interest accrued on all your contributions. Contributions made to PERSI prior 
to July 1, 1983, were taxed. [IRS Publication 5329, titled  “Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans 
(including IRAs) and Other Tax Favored Accounts,” explains the federal excise tax in detail.]

•	 Federal Withholding Tax
Generally PERSI is required to withhold 20% of the tax-deferred portion of your separation 
benefit for federal income taxes if the payment is made directly to you.  You may avoid this 
withholding by having PERSI roll over the tax-deferred portion of your benefit, including the 
interest, directly into another tax-qualified plan or IRA.

The only exceptions to the 20% withholding on distributions are for contributions paid with 
after-tax dollars or for ineligible contributions.

•	 Special Tax Treatments
Different special tax treatments, such as 5- or 10-year averaging or capital gains may be available 
if you receive a lump sum payment after you are age 59½ or were born before January 1, 1936.  
[See IRS Form 4972 or consult a tax advisor for more information.] More details are provided in 
the Special Tax Notice that comes as part of the RS108 Request for Separation Benefit form.

Methods of Payment
Three options are available to members making a Base Plan account withdrawal: 1) Lump sum 
payment directly to you; 2) Rollover directly to another eligible retirement plan or IRA; or 3) 
Split the funds with a portion paid to you and another portion rolled into an IRA or other eligible 
retirement account.  (On the RS108 form, these are shown as options A, B, and C.)  Your choice 
will affect the taxes you owe.  Regardless of which option you choose, you will receive a 1099R 
for income tax filing. The 1099R will indicate the taxable amount.

1)  Lump Sum Payment to You
If you select this option, you will receive 80% of your tax-deferred contributions and interest.  
The IRS requires PERSI to withhold 20% of the account as taxable income; the funds will be 
sent to the IRS.  In late January you will receive a 1099R for tax purposes; the 20% withholding 
will show as a tax credit against any federal taxes you may owe. Your separation benefit will 
be taxed in the current year unless you elect to roll over the funds.   If you receive the funds 
before reaching age 59½, you may be liable for an additional 10% federal excise tax for taking 
an early withdrawal. Tax withholding does not apply to contributions paid from after-tax dollars.

http://www.irs.gov/index.html
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You may choose to roll over your pre-tax lump sum payment within 60 days of receipt by depositing 
the money into an IRA or other employer plan that accepts rollovers.  The amount rolled over 
will not be taxed until you withdraw it.  If the payment is made to you, and later you decide 
to do a 100% rollover to an IRA or other eligible retirement plan, you must find other money to 
replace the 20% PERSI withheld and sent to the IRS. This also must be done within 60 days of 
receiving the money from PERSI. If you decide to roll over the 80% you received, the 20% that 
was withheld and not included in the rollover will be taxable income.

2) Direct Rollover
If you select this option, your payment will not be taxed in the current year, and no income 
tax will be withheld. (You will be taxed at the time you begin withdrawing the money from the 
rollover account.) The 1099R you receive in late January will indicate the funds were directly 
rolled over to an IRA or other eligible retirement account. 

Your must have a minimum balance of $200 in your PERSI account to choose a direct rollover of all 
your tax-deferred contributions.

If you have reached age 70½ or you have retired (whichever is later), you cannot rollover any portion 
of your separation benefit considered to be a “required minimum distribution” (RMD).   An RMD must 
be made directly to you.

3) Split Distribution Option
If you choose to take a partial payment of your account balance and roll over the rest, your rollover 
must be a minimum of $500.  A split distribution may reduce your tax consequences and enhance 
your retirement benefits. Only the lump sum portion paid directly to you requires a 20% federal tax 
withholding; and, if you have not reached age 59½, an additional 10% federal excise tax may be required.

Leaving Your Base Plan Account in PERSI
Under certain conditions, if you leave eligible public employment you may choose to leave your 
contributions and interest in the PERSI Base Plan instead of taking a separation benefit. Your 
contributions will continue to earn interest and your service retirement credits will be preserved.  
This is particularly important if you have 60 months or more of service, which would qualify you for 
a lifetime retirement benefit, or if you plan to return to a PERSI employer at some time in the future 
and want to keep your service credits intact. If you are eligible for a lifetime retirement benefit, 
cost-of-living adjustments (if granted) will be added to your accrued benefit from the date of your 
last contribution until you retire.

Members with Less Than 60 Months of Service
Non-vested members with an account balance of $1000 or more may leave their funds in PERSI 
indefinitely.  However, PERSI is required by Idaho law to refund contributions plus interest to non-
vested members with an account balance less than $1000, who are inactive for 3 years, separated 
from employment, and who are not reemployed by the same employer within 90 days. It is important 
to keep PERSI informed of your current mailing address so we can contact you regarding the refund 
of your account balance.

Members with Less Than 5 months of Service
If you have less than 5 months of credited service, you did not meet PERSI eligibility requirements. 
Because you did not meet the criteria for member eligibility, your contributions will be refunded to you. 
Contact PERSI for your refund. Elected and appointed officials should check with PERSI about eligibility.
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Taking a PERSI Choice 401(k) Plan Withdrawal

Generally, you must be an inactive member to withdraw funds from your Choice 401(k) Plan account.   
(Reducing your work schedule with your current employer to less than 20 hours per week does not make 
you eligible for a Choice Plan withdrawal; however, leaving one PERSI employer and going to work less than 
20 per week for another PERSI employer would make you eligible because you would be considered an 
inactive  member.)  The State of Idaho is considered one employer.

Methods of Payment
If you are eligible for a Choice 401(k) Plan withdrawal, several options are available. Your 
options depend on your account balance on the date you request a distribution and whether 
you are retiring. 

A.  Lump Sum Distribution Paid Directly to You.  You may request a lump sum distribution of 
your Choice 401(k) Plan funds. Any amounts payable that are eligible for rollover distributions 
will be subject to a mandatory federal income tax withholding of 20% and any mandatory 
state tax withholding. You may also incur a federal 10% early distribution penalty if you are 
under age 59½. Distributions not eligible for rollover will generally be subject to a 10% federal 
withholding, unless you elect a different rate.
  
B. Purchase Base Plan Service.  You may convert all or part of your Choice 401(k) Plan account 
balance to purchase service credit for your Base Plan retirement. To take advantage of this 
option you must:
	 1)  Be leaving active employment and going directly to PERSI retirement, and
	 2)  Be eligible to purchase service under the PERSI Base Plan, and
	 3)  Have completed the necessary purchase of service paperwork.

Because the cost to purchase service is based on many factors (salary, age, years of service), 
an exact cost cannot be calculated until you are ready to retire. This election must be made 
within 90 days prior to your retirement date.  You can estimate the cost of purchasing service 
by using the Purchase of Service Calculator on the PERSI website at www.persi.idaho.gov or by 
calling the PERSI Answer Center toll-free at 1-800-451-8228 or 334-3365 from the Boise area.

C.  Rollover to an IRA or Eligible Retirement Plan.  You may transfer your Choice Plan balance 
via direct rollover to an eligible retirement plan [401(a), another 401(k), 403(a), 403(b), or 457] or 
a Roth IRA or pre-tax IRA.  By transferring your money via direct rollover, you defer paying taxes 
(except on a Roth IRA).

D.  Leave Your Funds in the Choice Plan. You may leave your funds in the Choice Plan 
until you retire if your balance is $1,000 or  more. Your funds will be paid to you and your 
account closed if you have less than a $1,000 balance in your account. By leaving your 
money in the Choice Plan, you defer paying taxes. (When you reach 70½ your account will 
be subject to minimum distribution requirements.) You will also become responsible for  
paying the annual record keeping fees to maintain the account. Fees will be assessed against 
the account starting 90 days after you end your employment with a PERSI-covered employer.

http://www.persi.idaho.gov
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E.  Installment Payments. You may receive monthly installment payments from your Choice 
Plan account, which can be paid to you as follows:

	 1)  A fixed monthly amount, not to exceed 120 months; or

	 2)  In substantially equal monthly payments over a fixed period of time not to exceed 		
	      the joint life expectancy of you and your designated beneficiary.

Installment payments are available only when you retire, reach age 50, become disabled, or 
upon your death if your beneficiary is your surviving spouse. The balance in your account must 
be more than $5,000.  You will be responsible for paying the annual record keeping fees to maintain 
the balance during the time the installment payments are being made.  When you reach 70½, your 
installment payments may need to be adjusted to comply with minimum distribution requirements 
set by federal law.

Applying for a Choice Plan Withdrawal
To apply for a Choice 401(k) Plan withdrawal you must be an inactive member.  If you decide to withdraw 
your Choice Plan funds, you will need to go to the Empower Retirement web site to complete the process.  
Empower Retirement, the record keeper for the Choice Plan, processes all distributions and loans. The 
Empower Retirement website is accessible from the PERSI website.

Before Empower Retirement can pay a Choice Plan withdrawal, termination information must be 
received from your employer. If you elect to roll over your account balance to an IRA or other eligible 
retirement plan, Empower Retirement will need the name, address, and plan account information.  

The decisions you make about your Choice 401(k) Plan account can have financial and tax ramifications. 
Before taking a Choice Plan account withdrawal, you may want to consult with your financial or tax advisor.   

Active Member Distributions
Under certain circumstances, distributions from your Choice Plan account can be made while you are still 
an active member; these are called in-service withdrawals and are subject to different rules.

Loans
Two types of loans are permitted from your Choice 401(k) Plan account: General Purpose and Primary 
Residence loans. Only one loan is permitted at a time. You may borrow up to 50% of your account 
balance. The minimum loan amount is $1,000, so you must have at least $2,000 in available funds in your 
account for a loan. Available funds include your voluntary contributions, rollover amounts from previous 
eligible plans, earnings, and any employer contributions. Gain Sharing money is not eligible for loans. 
Loan repayments go into your own account through payroll deductions, which your employer will set up.

Hardship Withdrawal
A hardship withdrawal can be taken from your Choice Plan account to relieve an immediate and heavy 
financial need for these reasons: 
	 a)	 Payment of current post-secondary tuition (not tuition loan repayments)
	 b)	 Unreimbursed medical expenses
	 c)  	Purchase of a primary residence
	 d)	 To prevent eviction or foreclosure on your primary residence
 	 e)   	Funeral expenses for a deceased parent, spouse, child, or other dependent
	 f)	 To repair damage to your principal residence (must qualify for an IRS casualty loss deduction)

           To qualify for a hardship withdrawal, all other financial resources reasonably available must be exhausted.
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Hardship withdrawals are not subject to the mandatory 20% federal tax withholding; however, a 
small portion may be withheld.  The withdrawal is taxed as ordinary income and could be subject 
to an early withdrawal penalty if you are under age 59½ at the time of the distribution.  You may 
want to consult your tax advisor before taking a hardship withdrawal.

You will not be able to make voluntary contributions to your Choice Plan for 6 months if you take 
a hardship withdrawal.

Non-Hardship Withdrawal
Active PERSI members, including those who have suspended contributions to the Choice Plan, are allowed 
to take non-hardship withdrawals.

•	 If you rolled over money from a previous employer’s retirement plan, you may take a 
rollover withdrawal at any time.  The withdrawal will be paid in a lump sum and is subject 
to a mandatory 20% federal income tax withholding unless it is rolled over to an IRA. The 
withdrawal may also be subject to a federal 10% early distribution penalty if your are under 
age 59½.

•	 If you have funds that were transferred from the Idaho Super Saver 401(k) Plan (Scudder), 
you may request an in-service withdrawal from those funds if you are at least age 59½. 
Any other money contributed to the Choice Plan after October 1, 2001, regardless of the 
source, is not eligible for an in-service distribution.  The withdrawal is subject to the same 
taxes and penalties as described above.

You may initiate a non-hardship withdrawal by calling Empower Retirement (the plan record 
keeper) toll-free at 1-866-437-3774 or by accessing the Empower Retirement website by logging 
into your account from the PERSI website at www.persi.idaho.gov.  

Other Distributions

•	 Required Minimum Distribution: The IRS requires inactive participants who reach age 70½ to 
begin taking distributions from their 401 (k) plan by the first of April following the calendar year 
when they reach 70½ or retire (whichever is later).  

•	 Divorce:  Funds accumulated in the Choice 401(k) Plan by a married member are the assets of 
the marriage (community property), and may be subject to possible distribution between the 
member and the spouse in the event of a divorce. (See Divorce brochure on the PERSI website 
for details.)

 
•	 Disability:  A member who is determined to be disabled under Social Security Administration 

rules qualifies for a disability distribution from the Choice Plan.

Before taking your money from the Base Plan or your Choice 401(k) Plan account, consider all the 
advantages and disadvantages.  Not only could a withdrawal have tax consequences, but it could also 
impact your retirement.  Visit the PERSI website at www.persi.idaho.gov  for additional information 
about withdrawing your Base Plan or Choice 401(k) Plan funds.  

http://www.idaho.persi.gov
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The Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho

has three offices to serve you.

607 North 8th Street
Boise, Idaho 83702

 

 2005 Ironwood Pkwy, Suite 226  
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814

1246 Yellowstone Avenue, Suite A-5
Pocatello, Idaho 83201

1-800-451-8228 or 208-334-3365

 
The information in this booklet is also available

 on PERSI’s website at www.persi.idaho.gov
  

The information in this booklet is based on 2014 law. It is intended to explain PERSI retirement options as simply 
and accurately as possible. If there is any discrepancy between this publication and the law, the provisions of 
the law will prevail.  
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